Friday, June 11, 2010

The Next Top Title Blogfest

As promised yesterday, I forged ahead on my manuscript today and broke out of the 13K zone, finishing up at 14054, yeehaa!

Tomorrow, June 12th, is The Next Top Title Blogfest hosted by Slushpile Slut. This one has to do with titles, so today, I am unveiling the title of my book, the one I've been working on since March of this year, the one that currently is up to 14054 words.

I won't be giving you any loglines or background. Just the title. And you 'get to give me your impression as to what the title invokes for you' according to the rules as set forth by our Stilleto Queen. Hmm, I'm guessing we'll be looking for things like genre, voice, plot, storyline, etc.

Okeedokie?? Here goes. The title of my current novel is:

Churches, Chickens and Chi-Chi's.

Some of you have the advantage of having read a few snippets in previous Blogfests. Some of you don't. Either way, hit me with your best shot. I'm not giving any alternate titles because, well, the title inspired the book, soooo, the title is the title. If it sucks, I'm up a creek.

And don't forget to click over to Slushpile Slut's house to read all the other entries and to enter your own.

Love to all y'all!

~That Rebel, Olivia

20 comments:

Elaine AM Smith said...

I love the title of your wip - it made me smile.Thanks for the information about the Blogfest. I hope I'll be able to make it over, and to join in.

Kris & Kels said...

I love it. It's got humor. And a sprinkling of wit, and loads of charm.

<3 Kelsey Leigh

Susan Fields said...

I love it - it gives us a good sense of what the rest of the book will be like. Well done!

Sangu said...

Nice alliteration in the title! The first word that popped into my head when I read it was 'cute', but I don't know if that's what you were going for.

bryan-sabol said...

OMG: I know nothing about your WIP, but this title made me laugh. Don't change a thing!

RaShelle said...

The title is funny. I hope that's what you want. I love it. =D

Sharon K. Mayhew said...

I love it! It sounds like a fun read.

Zoe C. Courtman said...

Congrats on the word count! And I loved the title - immediately gave us your voice :D On another note, I've canceled my Cognitive Dissonance blogfest and am letting those who signed up know. (Just getting too bogged down and need to get to THE END in my MS!)

Dawn Embers said...

Nice to have a different type of entry. Most of us went with more than one title posted. But that's a very distinctive title for sure. It does grab a person's attention. I like the use of the words starting with C. That sounds nice. I don't think it's a book I'd actually read, but it's more the type of book, judging by the title. I do branch out some but since I'm so behind in my own genre reading, it's harder to have time to branch out.

Suzie said...

Your title is very humorous and cute. What a strange three, huh?! Makes one wonder what those three could possible do with one another! I like it. :)

elizabeth mueller said...

ROFL! This sounds like a fun read, ironic like a comedy. It makes me wonder how and where the Chi-Chi's comes in and even what it is. A restaurant? A gang? ;)

Olivia Herrell said...

Thanks to everyone for all the great feedback! A few words on how the title inspired the book and why I feel the need to hold on to it.

North Georgia has two things in abundance: churches (I'm in the heart of the Bible Belt) and chicken farms (more than anywhere in the country). After moving out here in December, those two things got stuck in my head as a great name for a novel. Only it needed something else.

One day, while driving, the car fairy gave me chi-chi's. Immediately came the plot for a short story. By the time I got home, the short story had fleshed out to a novel. It's of the Women's Fiction ilk (I hear 'chic lit' is now defunct), and, since it is set in the south, it also qualifies as Southern Fiction.

The chi-chi's fit, too, but I'll leave that to your imagination. For now.

Thanks for coming by and send your friends on over, too! And if you're not already, I could always use a few more followers!

~That Rebel, Olivia

Melanie Sherman said...

Oh yeah. Sounds like a funny book. I'd pull it off the shelf to read the back cover.

Oh, and I followed you. :)

Bridge Marie said...

Well, as I have no clue about anything to do with your wip besides this title, here goes... I'd definitely pull it off the shelf! I like the alliteration - it's cute and fun. Hopefully cute and fun is what you're going for?

Clara said...

Thats such a cute title! Loved it!

Tessa Conte said...

I like! It made me smile, which is always a good thing, and I would definately pick up the book and see what it's all about, and that's what we're all going for, no?

ps. Thanx for stopping by my blog!

Slushpile Slut said...

Olivia. You are a hoot and a breath of fresh air!!! Love the title and I grew up in the South...Virginia is for Lovers(all good sluts come from VA) so I totally get that title...evokes small town living, bible belt traditions and change?

Congrats on your word count and Thanks so much for participating!!

Olivia Herrell said...

I'm so glad Churches, Chickens and Chi-Chi's made you all smile, or giggle or laugh out loud, whichever the case may be.

Yes, cute's okay, as long as it grabbed you and made you wonder or want to know more. That's a good thing. I hope prospective agents and publishers feel the same.

Angela, Slushy Stilleto Queen, you rock! You hit the nail on the head, it's about all three, with a generous splash of wickedness (as in slutty south) thrown in. The big trick will be to balance the churches and chi-chi's! :P

So glad I found your Blogfest, thank you for ripping me open and ramping up my word count!

~That Rebel, Olivia

Eric W. Trant said...

I'd pick it up and read the back cover, for sure.

- Eric

Roland D. Yeomans said...

Your title has Southern humor, style, and charm written all over. Sorry, Olivia, my blood-runned over brain thought I had visited you entry.

It is great. Readers who loved FRIED GREEN TOMATOES and STEEL MAGNOLIAS will be sure to pick it up from the book shelves to see what it is about. And that's what you want. Agents know that as well.

Great job at a title. All right, what's a chi-chi? Roland

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails